Who are the Governors?

The school’s Governing Body is made up of 4 Governors elected by parents, the Head Teacher, 1 Governor elected by staff, 1 Governor appointed by Hertfordshire County Council and 5 Governors co-opted by other Governors. We also have 1 Associate Governor co-opted to assist on premises matters. Appointments are for four years, although vacancies do occasionally occur at other times.  If you are interested in becoming a Governor, please talk to the school office. See below for a full list of Governors.

CHIS Governors – Declaration of Interests

Our Governors

  • Ms Justine Elbourne-Cload (Executive Headteacher)
  • Mrs Rondi Allen (Co-opted Governor, Chair of Governors)
  • Mrs Anna O’Sullivan (Parent Governor, Co-Chair of Governors)
  • Mr Alex Sage (Parent Governor, Co-Chair of Governors)
  • Mrs Lisa Wood (Parent Governor, Vice Chair of Governors)
  • Mr Graeme Bird ( Co-opted Governor)
  • Mr Dave Ewart (Co-opted Governor)
  • Vacancy (Co-opted Governor)
  • Mrs Reanne Gourdin (Co-opted Governor,Safeguarding Link Governor)
  • Miss Charlotte Cotter (Co-opted Governor)
  • Miss Nikki Spencer  (Staff Governor)
  • Mrs Linda Wilson (Associate Governor)
  • Mr Tim Sheehy (LA Governor)
  • Clerk to Governors: Mr Patrick Aikman

Governor Profiles

What do we do?

The school’s Governing Body is responsible, with the Head teacher for making sure that a high quality of education is provided for all of its pupils. Whilst the Head Teacher leads and manages the school on a day-to-day basis, the Governing Body supports the Head and Senior Leadership Team to agree the school’s aims and ethos and to develop policies to achieve these aims. Within this strategic role, Governors also approve the use of the school’s budget and longer term planning. The Governing Body is accountable to the parents and the wider community for the school’s performance, the use of public resources and for ensuring the school complies with legislation. Governors also have a ‘critical friend’ role, supporting the staff, and celebrating the school’s success but also asking challenging questions about the way school is led and managed. All Governors make a declaration regarding pecuniary interests and if any are declared they are detailed in the individual Governor profiles.

Meetings and Activities

The Governing Body meets as a whole group four or five times a year. There are also three main committees which meet at least termly covering staffing, curriculum, and finance & premises. Governors also become involved in short term working groups to look at specific projects, for example the school travel plan or the healthy schools initiative. A committee has recently been set up to develop sustainable schools policies. Governors also help in various ways in the school, make visits to the school and attend a variety of school events.

Resources Committee:Mr Alex Sage (Chair), Miss Katherine Cooper, Mrs Linda Wilson, Mr Graeme Bird, Mrs Anna O’Sullivan, Miss Charlotte Cotter & Mr Dave Ewart

Teaching and Learning Committee: Mrs Lisa Wood (Chair), Miss Katherine Cooper, Mr Tim Sheehy, Mrs Reanne Gourdin, Miss Nikki Spencer & Mrs Vicky Fernandes

Appeals, Exclusions & Behaviour Committee & Complaints and Grievances Committee: TBC

If you would like to contact one of the School Governors please do so through the school office or by emailing them at .